Fathers

As members of the church we are blessed to know of the value of a Father. We know and love our Heavenly Father and of the blessing it is to have a relationship with him. I am grateful for the blessing of having this knowledge in my life, and for the righteous earthly father I have had who have taught me these principles. Psychology Today and the National Center for Fathering, have published articles and statistics of the blessings and benefits of having a involved Father in the home. Reading such articles has helped me to realize the importance of having a strong father figure in my future home for my future children.

Education           

Education is so important in the changing world we live in. for a decent job, a bachelors degree is required and is slowly becoming the equivalent of 1970s high school diploma. There is a constant need to have well educated individuals in America and through out the world. We know that those who are better educated not only are better communicators but also have an easier life load. Edward Kruk, Ph.D. has researched and found that: “71% of high school dropouts are fatherless; fatherless children have more trouble academically, scoring poorly on tests of reading, mathematics, and thinking skills; children from father-absent homes are more likely to be truant from school, more likely to be excluded from school, more likely to leave school at age 16, and less likely to attain academic and professional qualifications in adulthood.”   These statistics are staggering! I believe and know that fathers set the tone for education. They are the driving force behind having high expectations and standards.

I am grateful for the example my father has been to me of continuing education. That example has even come from my Grandfather O’Neil. He desired for all of his children to gain education, in hopes we would be more confident individuals. My parents have been a driving force in my life, and have taught me the value of a good education.

Physical and emotional health

In the gospel we are taught the word of wisdom. I know that these teachings are true and help to maintain healthy, easier lifestyle. We are faced with such great trials in this life that drain our physical and emotional health. The need for a father figure to teach good, healthy habits is in greater demand. Psychology today says: “…The majority of studies affirm that an involved father can play a crucial role particularly in the cognitive, behavioral and general health and well-being areas of a child’s life; that having a positive male role model helps an adolescent boy develop positive gender-role characteristics; that adolescent girls are more likely to form positive opinions of men and are better able to relate to them when fathered by an involved father…”( https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-long-reach-childhood/201106/the-importance-fathers). The cognitive behavior of children is greatly impacted by the parenting style they receive and more importantly the type of father that is going to be an example for our children and inspire them to reach great achievements.

Drug and Alcohol abuse

I have met a few people in my life who have been raised by their mothers and have not had the influence of a Father. Many of them have struggled with their identity and confidence, which has led them down the dark and troubling road of substance abuse. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services states, “Fatherless children are at a dramatically greater risk of drug and alcohol abuse.”

While it is not always because of a lack of a father in the home it is hard and sad to see so many people become so controlled by this.

From The Family, A Proclamation to the World it teaches us that, “…Fathers are to preside over their families in love and righteousness and are responsible to provide the necessities of life and protection for their families.” This is what I desire for my future family. It is easy to take for granted the value of a father when there is one present. I look at my dad and I am grateful for the love he has shown to me as his daughter. He has taught me, and my siblings many righteous principles, which have made us the successful individuals we are today. I feel so motivated by the expectations he has established for me, but encouraged by the tools and life skills he has taught me.

Leave a Reply

